Learning to like soup

I don’t like soup.

Okay, that’s not exactly true. I make an excellent corn chowder from the Moosewood cookbook and I can enjoy a good lentil soup every once in awhile but basically I don’t like soup. I would never order it at a restaurant and it is never my go to dinner. My wife loves soups, of many varieties, even orders it when we go out sometimes (I find this shocking), but since I hate it, we rarely have it at home.

Enter the slow cooker.

Yes, there are many wonderful things you can do with the slow cooker, but one of it’s main functions is slow cooked soup. I’m hoping that the things I don’t like about soup (watery, not enough flavor, no substance) will be alleviated with the slow cooker. I think the amount of time will give things more flavor. That’s my hope.

Tonight’s dinner: Chipotle-Potato Soup with Frizzled Leeks. Sounds good right?

Here is the recipe:

2 leeks, whites only (one of which you throw in the slow cooker with the potatoes and one of which you lightly fry in some oil, hence the frizzled part.)

2 tbls of olive oil

1.5 pounds of potatoes (which was only like 4 potatoes, I thought  it would be more and we now have a 15 pound bag of potatoes from Costco)

6 cups vegetable stock (okay, I need to start making my own vegetable stock. I have been using cheap boullion cubes and I think they really affect the flavor, especially in a soup like this).

Salt to taste

1 or 2 canned chipotle chilies in adobo sauce

You start by turning the slow cooker on high, adding 1 tbls of olive oil and throwing one leek in, to start softening them up. Then you peel and dice the potatoes (wish my slow cooker could do that for me!).

Then you throw the potatoes and vegetable stock in and cook it on low for 6-8 hours (I cooked it for almost 8).

Then you fry the rest of the leeks in the rest of the oil and put on a paper towel to drain. Set aside. Blend all the chipotles and set aside. You add the chipotles and the frizzled leeks to each surving depending on how spicy each person wants it.

Once the soup is done blend and serve with the chipotles and leeks!

Here is what it looks like before blending:

Here is what it looks like ready to eat:

Pretty, right?

Now the taste test. It was okay. I think quality stock would help next time. And I added too much chipotle to mine. But my wife liked it. I kept asking her what she likes about soup and she said, “its warm.” That didn’t explain it enough to me. My other problem, I realize as I start to get hungry again 30 minutes later is, I’m sorry, but that is not dinner. I think it needed a grilled cheese sandwich with it. I think I could like any soup that comes with a grilled cheese sandwhich.

-Rachel

 

6 comments on “Learning to like soup

  1. Heather says:

    Hey! I agree with Char that soup is delicious, but I see your point about not being full. Next time try adding some protein to the soup or on even the side ( cannelini beans blend well and would also thicken it thus making it more filling).

    I am loving your blog!!

    • rachhs2 says:

      I’m glad your enjoying it Heather. And your right. I’m sure other soups can be more filling. I’m going to try a black bean one next. Thanks for commenting!

      • Heather says:

        Your blog inspired me for dinner last night so I had a bowl of tomato soup and a grilled Caprese sandwich!!

        Good luck with the black bean soup!!

  2. jeffiknitter says:

    If you are tight on time and don’t want to use the sodium-filled yet tasteless bouillon cubes, splurge for the container of organic vegetable broth (I think the one in our fridge right now is from Pacific). Just note that it’s salty enough, you don’t need to add any more salt!
    I like chunky soup that you can basically chew.

  3. kaitlin says:

    I always need bread or a sandwich to go along with soups that don’t have some sort of protein in them….soup and bread so go well together but then your cooking time just got that much longer!

Leave a Reply

